Revising Your Translation Jobs

Revise your Project

You can revise a project in MateCat during the translation phase or after the translation is completed.

Click on the Revise link at the right bottom corner of the Translation Editor page to enter the revision mode. If you have logged in, go to your Management Panel and click on Revise under the Actions tab in the table corresponding to each job. Once in revision mode, you can switch back to translation mode by clicking on the Translate link in the bottom bar.

revision before

 

Revision Process

  • If the existing translation does not require revision, just click on Approved (or press CTRL+Enter) and you will go to the next translated segment to be revised.
  • If the existing translation needs to be edited, edit the translation in the target window. You’ll see the changes you make in real time in the Revision (track changes) window. Once you finish editing the segment, select the type of issues you found in the translation, then click on the Approved button (or press CTRL+Enter) to go to the next translated segment to be revised.

revision after

You can also move from one segment to the other by clicking on the segment you want to revise. However, if you edit a segment and you do not click on Approved, your revised translation will not be saved. In order to complete and save your revision you will have to go back to all segments that are not marked in green, open the editing box and confirm the translation by clicking on the Approved button (or by pressing CTRL+Enter).

For collaborative projects, leave comments to the other users working on the same translation job by clicking on the bubble icon on the right side or respond to the comments addressed to you and clear up any doubts.

Quality Report

While you revise the segments, the sidebar of the Quality Report button on the Revise page will change color in real time according to the ongoing result of the revision based on these values:

  • Green= Excellent, Very Good, Good
  • Yellow= Acceptable
  • Orange= Poor
  • Red= Fail

 

quality report_2

Clicking on this button, you’ll see the global quality report for the job revised and the total issues found per category.

overall quality report

This button is also shown on the Translate page only if the Overall Quality is Poor or Fail.

quality report fail

Finalizing

The revision is complete once all segments have been revised and marked as approved using the Approved button (or by pressing CTRL+Enter). At this point, the progress bar on the bottom of the screen will be all green.

Find out more on this topic in the specific section of the FAQ.
Was this article helpful?
21 1