Manage Your Language Resources

You can store all your private Resources in MateCat and assign them to your projects when creating a new project or during translation.

Adding a TM to a Project

When creating a project, click on the Settings link in the home page and the Settings panel opens from the right of your screen. Under the Translation Memory and Terminology tab click on the + Create resource button and a private TM Key will be generated automatically and identified by a unique alphanumeric value. Once the private Key is generated,  you can enter a description of the TM and finally click on the Confirm button. You can then import a TM by clicking on the Import TMX button. Then click on Choose File to import your tmx and confirm.

You can also opt for pre-translating the 100% matches from the TM by checking the corresponding box (see below).

schermata-2017-06-21-alle-10-26-24-1

 

You can do the same while translating: click on Add private resources in the Translation Editor page, and the Settings panel opens from the right of your screen. Click then on + Create resource to add your private TM.

add-private-resource-te-1

If you already have a private key (that is, an alphanumeric string that identifies your private TM), you can paste it in the first input box, otherwise click on + Create resource. Optionally, you can enter a short description (client name, product, subject, etc.) to help you remember what the TM is for (e.g. “MateCat_user guide”). When you are done, click on Confirm and your private TM key is created.

Importing, Exporting and Deleting Your TM

After you create a private TM as described above, you can import your TMX files into it to re-use your previously translated content.

Note that a private TM on MateCat can contain any number of languages, so you can put all languages in a single private TM for a client, product, subject or whatever is more convenient for you.

riga-tm-key-2

It is also possible to export your translation memories in TMX format for all your active and inactive TMs once you finish translating or during the translation process itself. In order to do this, access your Translation Memory and Terminology tab and click on the arrow of the dropdown menu next to the Import TMX button to select the Export TMX option, or through the Add private resources tool in the Translation Editor page.

dropdown-menu-1
Additionally, you can delete any private translation memory that you created by mistake or that you do not want to use anymore by selecting the option Delete resource.

Active and Inactive Resources

Your Translation Memory and Terminology tab has two separate lists:

  • Active Resources are the translation memories that you have assigned to the project you are creating or working on; MyMemory, the public translation memory shared by all MateCat users, is ranked first among the active resources and is indicated with a world icon. When clicking on the corresponding  Import TMX button, users can add their TMs to the Public Memory.

schermata-2017-06-21-alle-10-45-55

When adding a resource, users can choose to not update MyMemory with their translated segments, but it cannot be disabled nor can the Lookup function be removed. By default, any added resource has the Update checkbox selected; in this case the public translation memory will not be fed with the translated segments. In other words, users can choose not to have their translations saved in the public translation memory (MyMemory) by selecting the Update checkbox corresponding to the private key.

  • Inactive Resources are the translation memories that you have saved in your profile on MateCat. You can activate a TM and add it to a project by selecting the Enable checkbox next to the private key. Once the resource has been enabled, MateCat will automatically check both the Lookup and Update checkboxes. Users can manually clear the Update checkbox next to the private TM if they would like their translations to be saved inside the public translation memory.

schermata-2017-06-27-alle-10-42-44

Look up and Update

For any TM, you can decide whether you want to use it to look up translation matches or to also save your translations to it. To do that, select one or both of the Lookup and Update checkboxes.

  • Only Lookup selected: the translation memory is only used to look up translation matches from your private TM;
  • Only Update selected: the translation memory is only used to save your translated segments in the private TM;
  • Both Lookup and Update selected: the translation memory is used both to look up translation matches and to save your translated segments in the private TM.

schermata-2017-06-27-alle-10-51-50

Adding Multiple Private TMs to Your Project

You can add any number of private TMs to your project. When you add more than one private TM to your project, you can order them by dragging and dropping each TM to the desired position.

schermata-2017-06-27-alle-11-32-39

The translation matches that MateCat presents for each segment are ranked based on their fuzzy match score. However, when two matches coming from two different TMs have the same fuzzy match score, they are ranked based on the priority of the private TMs in your Active Resources list.

Private TMs from Other Users

When you are working on a project created by another user (e.g. your PM) or you are working with a colleague, you may see translation memories that do not belong to you: they are grayed out and covered with asterisks.

These are private TMs that another user added to the project and chose to share with you. Only the owner of those TMs can decide whether to add them to a project or to make them available to you in Lookup and/or Update mode.

screenshot-drive-google-com-2016-11-18-13-09-00

 

Sharing Your Private TMs

You can share your private TMs with other users by sending them the private key (e.g. 89e877998c9dae5a5337). In order to do this, click on the arrow of the dropdown menu next to the Import TMX button and select Share resource. You can then enter the email address of the person you wish to share it with inside the text box. If they have an account on MateCat, the private key will be added directly to their translation memory and terminology tab; otherwise they will need to click on the Add a resource button and paste the key into the private TM key field and then click on confirm.

shared

Click on 1 others to view the list of users with whom the private key is shared.

IMPORTANT NOTE: It is important to keep in mind that sharing a resource also means sharing its ownership. All users sharing a resource have full access to its content and can modify it without any restrictions. 
Find out more on this topic in the specific section of the FAQ.
Was this article helpful?
28 5