How private are my translations and translation memories? Are they really “hermetically sealed” from all other users and in particular from you as the provider?
In general, I would say that MateCat is as secure as any other service using secure connections over the Internet. This means that if you receive the job via email, you can probably translate it with MateCat.
Of course, the best option is to check with your client what level of confidentiality they expect for the translation keeping the following in mind:
- The translation jobs are protected by a unique URL which can only be opened by those who know the full URL, usually the project owner and the translators. It is not indexed by search engines.
- You can monitor who has access to your job, by clicking on the Activity Log icon in the management panel, just below the project name. This lists all activities including who opened the project or downloaded any data.
- When you send a support request to our team, they can open the URL and see the content of your file, if that is needed to troubleshoot the issue you are experiencing.
- If you use a private translation memory and select the Update checkbox, your translations are stored in that private translation memory. Private TMs are not shared with anyone else, as opposed to the public TM which is available to all MateCat users.
- When using machine translation, the source segment is sent to the MT provider (usually Google Translate) to get an automatic translation. This can be prevented by disabling machine translation in the corresponding tab under the Settings panel.
What if I translate a text of general interest and have nothing against sharing my work? How can I set that?
If you translate a document without setting a private translation memory, your translations are saved in the public translation memory and benefit all MateCat users.